Medea by Euripides

  • ناوی کتێب: Medea
  • نووسەر: Euripides
  • وەرگێڕ: Rex Warner
  • زمان: ئینگلیزی

4,000 د.ع

This volume contains the following tragedies by Euripides:
1. Alcestis, translated by Richmond Lattimore
2. The Medea, translated by Rex Warner
3. The Heracleidae, translated by Ralph Gladstone
4. Hippolytus, translated by David Grene
In nine paperback volumes, the Grene and Lattimore editions offer the most comprehensive selection of the Greek tragedies available in English. Over the years these authoritative, critically acclaimed editions have been the preferred choice of over three million readers for personal libraries and individual study as well as for classroom use.


دەربارەی نووسەر


Euripides (Ancient Greek: Εὐριπίδης) (ca. 480 BC–406 BC) was the last of the three great tragedians of classical Athens (the other two being Aeschylus and Sophocles). Ancient scholars thought that Euripides had written ninety-five plays, although four of those were probably written by Critias. Eighteen of Euripides’ plays have survived complete. It is now widely believed that what was thought to be a nineteenth, Rhesus, was probably not by Euripides. Fragments, some substantial, of most of the other plays also survive. More of his plays have survived than those of Aeschylus and Sophocles together, partly because of the chance preservation of a manuscript that was probably part of a complete collection of his works in alphabetical order.



کۆد: medea-by-euripides بەش: